Home Page

How the governing body is formed

The Governing Body of Leigh Primary School is constituted under the ‘School Governance (Constitution) (England) Regulations 2012’ The Governing Body is made up of:

  • Three Parent Governors
    (Elected by all the Parents/Guardians of children at the school)
  • One Local Authority Governor
    (Nominated by Tameside MBC and appointed by the Governing Body)
  • The Headteacher
  • One Staff Governor
    (Elected by the staff of the school)
  • Six Co-opted Governors
    (Persons who, in the opinion of the governing body, have the skills required to contribute to the effective governance and success of the school. – Co-opted Governors are appointed by the Governing Body)


All Governors generally serve a 4 year term of office.


The Governors are: (please click on star below to find more information)

  • Mr K Robinson – LEA Governor - Chair of Governors
  • Mrs C Rhodes - Head Teacher
  • Mr N Ormrod - Co-opted Governor
  • Mr C Pike - Co-opted Governor
  • Miss T Lawler - Staff Governor


In addition the Governing Body has appointed the following Associate Members of the Governing Body:

  • Mrs C Millward